Wikipedia defines Sashimi (Japanese: 刺身, pronounced [saɕimiꜜ]; English: /səˈʃiːmiː/) as a Japanese delicacy primarily consisting of very fresh raw seafood, sliced into thin pieces and served with only a dipping sauce (soy sauce with wasabi paste or other condiments such as grated fresh ginger, or ponzu), depending on the fish, and simple garnishes such as shiso and shredded daikon radish.

Since having my first taste of sashimi in high school I’ve always detested this delicacy. I love almost everything Japanese – Sony, Toshiba, Nikon, Canon, and even Tempura (天麩羅, tenpura, also written as “天ぷら”), a popular Japanese dish of deep fried, battered seafood, or vegetables. I can even have a bite or two of sushi (寿司, 鮨, or 鮓), vinegar rice topped with other ingredients, such as fish, shrimp, eel and octopus.

So why am I writing this? I was in Tokyo from December 17-19 to attend a business meeting. I was invited by my host to join them for dinner Friday evening. The restaurant they picked was Nadaman, on the basement of the Imperial Hotel in Tokyo. According to my host, Nadaman is famous throughout Japan for the quality of the cuisine it serves.

For the December 18 dinner, my host treated us to a fine selection of Japanese cuisine in true Nadaman tradition. Unfortunately my host had difficulty translating the names of each of the dish that was served so to avoid giving you the wrong names, I will just publish the photos of each dish and let your imagination run wild.

Appetizer

Nadaman Appetizer

First of main course

Nadaman - main course #1

Second of main course

Second main course

Third of main course

Third in the main course

Fourth of main course

Fourth course

Dessert

The dessert

As I said at the beginning of this blog, I’ve never liked sushi much less sashimi. And for the five years I brought customers to Japan to enjoy a traditional meal (or two), I’ve always passed up the chance to eat the best sushi and sashimi in town. But on this trip, I decided I couldn’t say “no” to my host and so I sucked up enough courage and ate my fill of sashimi. And I can tell you, it was worth every bite.

Oishii.

